Not the end, but the beginning

All ten members of the Class of 2012

The Victory Christian Academy (VCA) Class of 2012 consists of ten graduates who are all unique in their own ways, but alike at the same time. From the super-conservative Sam Brown to the artistically talented Claire Abner, each and every member of the Class of 2012 has left their personal mark on the students and staff of VCA.

Some students in the Class of 2012 have been going to VCA since the beginning of the school’s first official year, while others came to VCA halfway through their junior year. In the middle of his junior year, Samuel Brown’s parents approached him with the idea of attending VCA. “I was up for a change, so I decided to come to VCA,” said Brown.

Senior Evan Longhi believes that an education at VCA has al-lowed him to get into the college of his dreams. “When I came to VCA, I was able to take classes which educated me and helped me bring up my GPA so I could get into the university I’ve always wanted to go to (Indiana University).

Some seniors are sad to leave VCA, while others are more than ready to begin their first year of college. “I just can’t wait to get down to Bloomington. It’s going to be such an amazing year,” said Longhi.

On the other hand, Katie Fiebelkorn wants to savor every mo-ment left of her high school experience. “It’s so sad that we’re finally graduating. Graduation is one of the biggest events in a person’s life and it’s finally here for us,” said Fiebelkorn.

Almost all of the seniors plan on furthering their studies in Indiana. “Bloomington is a perfect distance from home. If I want to come home, I only have to drive three and a half hours. It’s also far away enough where I will be able to have my independence,” said Longhi.

Jordan Armstrong is the only one venturing out of state. Jordan will travel more than halfway across the United States to attend Newmont University in South Jordan, Utah. “I was looking for a change. A big part of why I chose Newmont is that I can complete a bachelor’s degree in only two and a half years,” said Armstrong.

The soon-to-be graduates are thankful for their high school education, but are awaiting their venture into the “real world.”

The Class of 2012 concludes their last school day on Thursday, May 31. Graduation is scheduled at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, June 1 in the chapel. Science teacher Mrs. Jordan is expected to speak on behalf of the girls, while Assistant Principal Mr. Chirch is expected to speak on behalf of the guys. The graduation ceremony will be followed by a reception in the gymnasium.

The Class of 2012 is more than eager to graduate with only one day left to go, however the unforgettable seniors have definitely left an impact at VCA. “This class is a lot of fun to be around. They are all easy going and have a great sense of humor. We’re definitely going to miss them,” said Chirch.

Leave a Reply

